Children should do community service in their free time as it will be good for them and the society.

Community service has recently become increasingly popular especially among adolescents. Many people claim that teenagers should do social service during their leisure time as it is advantageous to themselves as well as their society. From my own perspective, these services are part of their duties thus they must be done during their free time for several reasons which will be discussed in this essay. There are those who argue that the youth should not do these voluntary services in their free time. It is believed that teenagers should spend their luxury time studying or working in lieu of wasting it in community service. For instance, working in their free time will enrich them with experience, which will definitely help them when they grow up. Additionally, it is claimed that there is always more to learn. In other words, extra time might be used for extracellular learning activities, for example, learning a new language or even specific skills. It is no doubt that free time is highly valuable and must be wisely used. However, I completely disagree that community service will waste the teenagers’ extra time. Quite on the contrary, doing community service is propitious and has a positive impact on both the society and the adolescents doing it. With regards to the society, it will create a feeling of cooperation and support between people, which will help avoiddisjointed communities. Researchers have found that more than half of the societies nowadays appear to be fragmented as a result of the advancements in technology. Consequently, people will get to know each other and this will improve their relationships. Not only is community service beneficial to the society, but it is also helpful to the person doing it. Such services will allow the youth to gain fruitful skills especially teamwork. Since they will be working in groups, they will learn how to efficiently deal with different personalities, which is essential for their future careers as many people fail to work in a team. Considering these advantages, doing community service is a must for all teenagers in order to effectively spend their free time. To conclude, there are numerous assets which will be gained upon doing a social service, therefore, teenagers are advised to participate in such services in their free time to benefit themselves and their own community in various ways as previously discussed in this essay.