Children over the age of 15 should be allowed to vote. In your opinion, which modern invention or scientific discovery has affected society the most?

Many practices have changed with the passing generations. Nowadays, people tend to discard broken items, whereas in the past, people used to renovate these things and use them for a longer period. In this essay, I will discuss why these preferences have changed, and what is the impact of this change. These days things change frequently as compared to the past. Electronic gadgets, for example, become obsolete rapidly as the latest technology springs up. As a result, people do not bother to maintain the old items, and they prefer to buy a new product when it becomes available in the market. In addition to this, advanced marketing techniques have influenced the shopping behaviour of consumers. For instance, when a new mobile phone is launched, the advertisements are so persuasive that most young people cannot resist selling their old phones to purchase a new one. These developments have changed the way how people treat their belongings. The change in behaviour has resulted in a more financial burden and increased consumption of resources. Because people are not interested in repairing their defected possessions, they have to spend more to buy new things. Consequently, people endure difficult financial situations. Moreover, we are consuming our resources, both replaceable and irreplaceable at an unprecedented speed. Industries, for example, tend to produce more as the demand for new products increases. These effects show that people save less money and consume more resources. In conclusion, we favour replacing the old items instead of repairing them in contrast to the people of the previous generation. This evolution is a result of frequent changes in styles and updated marketing practices. However, this has placed the populace under immense financial pressure and also resulted in the consumption of more resources.