Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activities levels accordingly. Why is this case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

It is true that recently more and more children are addicted to TV programs that makes them spend less space to engage in outdoor activities. This is caused by several reasons. Although there will undoubtedly be some negative consequences of this trend, societies can take steps to mitigate these potential problems. The main cause of this problem is that the parents are too busy that they do not have enough time to take care their children while they still want to keep the kids under the control. Giving them a television would drive their attention to it rather than asking their mom and dad to play with them. This lack of care makes the TV shows becoming the main way for the children to entertain. Moreover, the living standard is higher and higher, so that television is a technological product which has had a wide spread to every family. Thus, chance for kids to approach it is increasing. There are several actions that could be taken to eradicate the problems described above. Firstly, a simple solution would be the parents to set up time for children to watch TV. In other words, they should limit hour to turn on the television. For example, the kids are allowed to spend two hours per day on this item: one hour for each afternoon and evening and they would be restricted if they do not follow that schedule. The second measure would be for education organizations to encourage the physical activities. They could plan some competitions or challenges for kids and reward the winners to raise the attitude to sport and direct them to outdoor activities. To sum up, children are keen on the TV more than those in the past due to their parents and the thrive. Besides, various measures can be taken to tackle this issue.