Childhood obesity is becoming a serious problem in many countries What are the causes of this What solutions can be offered

In recent years, child obesity has increasingly become a popular issue in many nations. This essay will look at some primary causes of this and offer some possible solutions to the problem. There are a number of the rising levels of childhood obesity. The first reason is unhealthy eating habits. Children nowadays tend to consume too much fast food, candy and sugary drinks instead of eating healthy food in daily meals. These foods can cause kids to gain weight quickly as they are very high in fat and sugar but low in vitamins and minerals. Another reason for the growing rate of childhood obesity is sedentary lifestyles. Children give preference to watching TV, surfing the internet or playing computer games rather than playing sports. As a consequence, they are becoming increasingly obese. There are several actions that could be taken to mitigate the problem mentioned above. Firstly, it is important for parents to control what their children eat to make sure that they have a healthy diet. Parents should also educate them about detrimental effects of an imbalance diet so that they can make more healthy food choices. Secondly, unhealthy junk food should be banned from school menus and fast food advertising should be limited. Finally, it is necessary for parents to restrict the time their children spend on sedentary activities and encourage them to take regular exercise. Physical activity and exercise would help them control their weight by burning excess calories that otherwise would be stored as fat. In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the increase in child obesity and measured should be implemented to tackle this issue.