Chigozie Ogbonna: Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present world, with the advancement of technology online shopping is becoming more popular. The Internet offers a wide range of services from shopping, food ordering, and books etc. Websites like Amazon and Bookingcom provide great deals to attract customers. However, there are both pros and cons of shopping online. In this essay, I will discuss some positives of shopping online and challenges to be overcome. Let's begin by looking at the advantages of online shopping. Firstly, customers can shop from home. What I mean by this is that, instead of going out to shop, these websites offer images of the product and allows people to select any item making their life easy. For example, Flipkart an Indian based online giant helps people with a variety of products to choose. Moreover, this model of shopping saves time for busy people, allowing them to shop while they travel or eat. Secondly, There are great deals available online, compared to shops. People have an option to choose a product from two different websites without hassle for comparison, they also offer huge discounts throughout the year. For instance, people search for air tickets from different online areas and choose the one with great profit. Additionally, stores like Big Basket offer fresh fruit and vegetable delivery services, reducing the customer's burden to hand-pick them from an outside store. Turning on to the other side of the argument, sometimes products can be cheap or not-value for money like bad quality material used for clothing or selling frozen products. This has made many consumers leave internet for buying things, and also while ordering heavy products like Television sets or Washing machines there can be rough delivery issues sometimes. Furthermore, Credit fraud is a major concern for online shoppers, there are many fraud transactions going round the internet, like phishing webpages and replacing the payment page with the wrong web page. Additionally, there are many cases of utilizing customer's data like phone numbers for wrong purposes. Finally, false advertisements attract people for buying fake or expired products, making the way for traditional shopping. In conclusion, although internet scams, shopping online will be very enjoyable and satisfying because it allows people to hand-pick products from interested quantities and qualities. People should weigh the positives like saving money, home shopping, and so on and the negatives like online fraud before choosing the better shopping option. Personally, I believe that benefit in the form of comparing products from different websites outweighs all other disadvantages.