Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past 30 years in the world that many cities now are "one big traffic jam". Do you think that this statement is true? What measure can government take to address this problem?

Nowadays, more and more people are in desire of buying car. However, this trend has brought some problems like traffic jam and it is inevitable to tackle this issue. In this essay I will look at the reasons why car ownership is so popular and propose some solutions for it. First and foremost, public transport in many countries, especially in developed, is very expensive and as a consequence people decide to buy car instead of using buses or trains. In Norway, for example, people often have to spend 10 percent of their salary on buses in order to commute to work. The solution is for the government to reduce the ticket prices of public transport. As buses and trains are able to take much more people than cars, they would significantly reduce traffic problems. Another problem is that most people consider cars as the most convenient way to get from A to B. This is because driving cars does not need as much effort as travelling on foot. As a result, many people go to even small distances like a shopping centers and restaurant by car. These places are often swarming with people and are the main cause of the traffic congestion in city centers. In my country, it is common to see vehicles on the road that get stuck in traffic, but are full of clothes and gifts. The way forward might be to put ban on entering these places by any means of transport, except for bicycle. This will also aid to reduce air and noise pollution and enable people to lead a healthy life. To sum up, cars have some advantages over other means of transport. Travelling by car is cheaper than buses or trains and it easy to travel by car than on foot. My view is that the main responsibility for solving this problem lies with government.