Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the last past thirty years that many cities in the world are now on big traffic jam. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can government take to discourage people from using their cars.

Over the last three decades, the rampant trend of keeping own personal vehicles has exaggerated the problem of bottle neck traffic across the globe. I firmly acknowledge the truthiness of the statement to the extent that officials should take strict steps to resolve the issue. in this essay I will discuss the various factors, favoring the reason of car possession and thereafter will suggest the measures which government can take to solve it. To begin with, one of the important factor which leads to personalized car possession is the expedition of higher socio-economic status of larger group of community. The people have the capacity to afford the purchase of vehicles, and the vehicles are easily available on EMIs also. For instance, the youngsters employed in multinational companies are getting higher package nowadays. Moreover it becomes the status symbol to use contemporary smart automobiles instead of availing the public transport. Additionally in this fast pacing era, everybody is inclined towards the fixed time table in order to achieve the desired set of goals. To illustrate, employees of corporate sector in metropolitan cities have to hit the road earlier for beating the traffic. As bumper to bumper cars on the roads are posing the great threat of global warming, hence it is worthy for bureaucrats to step forward in dealing with this Armageddon of traffic jams. For this, the policy on environmental safety should take into consideration about the tax posed on vehicles, responsible for emission of harmful gases, which in turn, endangers the ecosystem. Moving on, the public transport system should be strengthened, motivating the person to use it. For example the electric driven metro rail in big cities is a sincere effort towards controlling the traffic on roads. Finally, to sum up, it might be stated that increased traffic in city-centres is creating numerous problems related to environment and health. To deal with the situation, the authorities have to keep pact with the framed rules and regulations.