Car ownership has increased rapidly over the past thirty years

It is widely believed that the number of car owners has spiraled out of control, which has led to terrible traffic jam frequently in many cities over the last 30 years. In my opinion, I agree with this statement because it increases the number of vehicles on road, so it will create bad traffic congestion. In this essay, I am going to explain this reason and give some solution for curtailing using of cars in cities. Obviously, the increasing number of private cars swells the ranks of vehicles riding on the road. Therefore, it causes bad traffic jams. Take Hanoi as an example; the annual rise rate of car ownership in this city was 20% in 2019, which makes Hanoi is grappling with the worst traffic jamstraffic jams in on-peak hours in recent years. It has an extremely adverse effect on the people’s daily lives. However, I believe that there is also some plausible solution for the municipal governments, which may reduce bottleneck risks. Firstly, the authorities can increase the inner-city road tax for private cars. It is clearly that when the expenses for a car go up, owners will bound to consider using private cars. Hanoi, for example, the government decided to impose a new tax law for private cars last year, from 1000 dollars up to 2500 dollars and the register for a new car will charge extra 10% of the car’s value. It has made people rethink of owning or using a private car. There are also many other measures for helping ease traffic, such as raising transportation law implementation awareness or building new roads, etc. But it seems for long-term plans. In conclusion, I believe that the increase of car owners is one of the reasons for the terrible traffic congestion, but by rising toll, raising awareness or building roads, the government may dishearten people from using their cars.