Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'on ebig traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

During the last three decades the rising number of cars owned by people has deeply influenced traffic in many cities in the world. This essay will first address the question of how real is the change claimed in the statement and it will then discuss what could governments do to regulate cars' using. As a result of the automobiles' market diversification, has become easier to buy a car due to the lower costs, but this entails a greater number of vehicles on the streets which are not made to let all these cars circulating. For example, in a city like Rome because of the large number of tourist places, it is not possible to build an efficient street system that permits to distribute traffic in an effective way. Concerning the question about the measures that governments could take to dishearten vehicle usage, I think that one of the viable solution is to increase fuel taxes. In fact, this will make possible a decrease in using automobiles and together with public transport improvements will solve traffic congestion. For instance, as a result of a five years research conducted by The Department of Transport, thanks to a series of strengthening of bus services and to the subway lines, traffic congestion in London has decreased about the 4, 5%. In conclusion, due to the fact that became easier to acquire a car, transforming cities in a 'huge traffic jam' a doable solution could be increase gasoline prices and powering public transport services in order to solve the issue.