Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility into University difficult.

Tertiary education has become incessantly exorbitant and competitive which has made securing admission in universities an arduous task. But is getting admission in higher education institute equally difficult for people with good financial background as it is for poor? While this is a contentious debate, I disagree and believe that individuals with affluent backgrounds are more likable to get into a university. The reasons for my this opinion are outlined below with supporting examples. To begin with, number of private universities have inexorably increased in recent years providing people with well-off backgrounds an easy opportunity to get admission there despite poor academic scores. To be specific, in contrast to public sector universities, private universities charge far higher fees and thus only students coming from the strong financial background can afford them. For instance, private medical colleges in Pakistan offer admissions to students who have very poor academic records but charge them high fees. Indeed, if one has the financial means to afford costly education then its easy to enroll into a tertiary level educational institute. Moreover, it is observed that universities have set high application charges causing people to apply to less universities. As a result, applying in fewer number of institutes result into less probability of getting admission. For example, since I applied in more than twenty universities for admission after my intermediate, it resulted into higher probability of acceptance. Hence, as it costs significant amount of money to apply in large number of universities, it is difficult for individuals from marginalized section of society to secure admission into universities. In conclusion, because private universities have dominated education sector, now it is possible to get into higher education institutes inspite of mediocre academic records. Also, owing to high application fees of universities, it is difficult for people from poor background to apply for multitude of universities and thus resulting into less probability of securing admission.