Both poor and rich find the accessibility into university difficult.

Attaining a university degree is always challenging for both needy and affluent students. While it is equally difficult for both the segments to get admission in the university, I believe wealthy students face lesser difficulty when it comes to paying for the costs involved. The most common reason for students facing difficulty in university admission is the limitation of seats, and outperforming the competition is equally tough for both needy and wealthy students. Take Bangladesh, for example, last year there were more than a hundred applicants against each seat in all of its top-ranking public universities. Consequently, no matter how hard students worked, some students, either poor or rich, were left out of university programs. Another reason preventing students attaining tertiary education is high tuition fees. Although students from affluent families may not face any difficulty, many needy families cannot afford the cost. A significant portion of poor students opts out from study owing to this obstructive university fees. Hence, from a financial perspective, poor students have to deal with more hurdles to access university education. Finally, when opportunities within one’s country are limited, affluent students might go for study abroad. However, the cost of living and studying abroad is beyond the reach of underprivileged families, and for them, no such option exists. To conclude, while accessibility to a university degree is tough for students from both poor or wealthy families, needy students find it more difficult because of the high costs of study and they are also offered with fewer opportunities.