Both the poor and the rich find the accessibility into university difficult.

It is widely argued that the younger generation requires to choose their own career pathway, while others believe that the parents should do it for them. This essay will discuss both perspective and provide my personal opinion on why the first statement is more significant. When addressing the work field, many parents believe that certain professions will bring higher income. In Singapore, for instance, 95% of graduates in Nanyang University stated that their parents selected their major degree, despite their own interests towards the subject. Although, survey later discovered that 80% of those graduates earn more than SGD$70, 000 annually and have received an offer prior their graduation, half of them mentioned that they are not happy or satisfied during their work. Therefore, parents' selection may bring a better future for their offsprings, however, they will eventually realise that the job may not be enjoyable. On the other hand, in my opinion, children should be able to choose their own profession. Firstly, it can significantly increase their mental well-being. In 2015, researchers found that pupils who follow their passion as an occupation have less depression and more motivation to do their job. Additionally, passionate job allows them to get promotion quicker than their peers, which also equivalent to higher salaries. This is because of the fact that they are able to work harder and offer more hours during their working period. Hence, offsprings should be able to select their own profession in order to decrease their depression and increase their job promotion. In conclusion, although many parents think that selecting the career for their children may bring better income, based on the essay above it will instead deteriorate their mental health. In my opinion, the younger generation should have the right to choose their own profession, since this will allow them to have a better health and career in the future.