Because of modern technology, it is no longer necessary for people to learn handwriting skills, but others believe that handwriting is still an important skill.

Due to the development of contemporary technology, many people expect that being taught to write by hand will be useless while others disagree and opine it still has its value. In this essay, I am going to examine the question from both points of view and then give my own perspective on the matter. On one side of the argument, there are people who argue that the benefits of handwriting considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that handwriting is quick and convenient; people can write whenever and wherever they are if they have a hand and a pen. It is also possible to say that the handwriting is an art, so people are trying to succeed in preserving the skill. A particularly good example here is that many calligraphers sell their work for a lot of money. On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that in fact, the world is becoming hard-wired, so people are likely to prefer digitalised methods than the conventional way. Many people have this opinion because they believe e-mail and voice recordings are much more accurate and useful. A second point is that there are so many people who cannot read, and write cursive, or Chinese characters nowadays, so this trend is making handwriting unfavourable. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that handwriting will not disappear because there are still many who suppose it is a convenient and useful skill, and it also has an artistic value. Given this situation, it is recommended for people to practice handwriting every day to make their writing more legible.