average percentages of sodium, surated fats, and added sugars in typhical meals consumed in the USA

In certain countries, people are facing too many health issues due to excessive consumption of fast food. Some people are of the view that to bring this in control the government ought to increase the tax on such food items. However, I completely disagree with this view as I feel that imparting health related knowledge to the citizens and banning hazardous food items are the best ways to deal with this problem. Undoubtedly, consuming too much fast food leads to many health related concerns. To tackle this, the government has to step in and impart education to the citizens regarding the amount of fast food they can eat and its ill effects rather than imposing higher tax as it will increase the burden on middle class people. To illustrate, in most of the countries about 65% of the population consists of middle class and if the state imposes higher taxes on any food item they will be the most affected lot. Therefore educating people of all classes about the health issues arising out of junk food consumption is more feasible. Fast food contains certain ingredients which are extremely harmful to the human body. Such ingredients should be banned by the government to deal with the health problems arising out of its consumption. This step can eradicate the problem from its root cause. For example, Ajinomoto is one such ingredient which is extensively used in fast food preparations. Health specialists consider it as the slow poison to the human body and it also causes cancer. This kind of food substances used in fast food should be put on the banned list. This measure will be more successful than increasing the tax on fast food. In conclusion, I firmly believe that imposing taxes will not help much in solving the health issues arising out of excessive consumption of fast food as it will not address the root cause of the issue; rather it would put more economic pressure on poor and middle class sections of the society.