Average life span of the human in many developing countries is increasing. Is this is a positive or negative development? Will this increased life expectancy have any social and personal issue? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

With the increasing medical facilities and new drugs for old diseases, the average life expectancy has increased in past few decades around the world. This can be more specifically seen in the developed economies where the increase is about 5 to 10 years in both male and female population. Although it is a good news that doctors and scientist are able to find the cure for some of the fatal disease, both the individual and government need to plan carefully to face the challenges the increased life expectancy has. Since longer life expectancy means additional expenditures, an individual needs sound financial planning so that he/she can retire with sufficient funds that will last until his/her death. This will help him/her to lead a happy retired life where he does not need to worry about his medical and other living expenses. The government needs to plan better regarding the social security benefits that a citizen will require one he/she stops earning or goes out of work due to age. The country needs to develop more and better old age cares that can give the senior citizens a right to dignified living during the last phase of their lives. Medical practitioners and nurses who specialise in taking care of elderly people need to be in sufficient number to cope with the growing old age population. In conclusion, not only the individual himself but also government and society need to be prepared to deal with increasing life expectancy and giving elderly people a happy and secure life in their last years.