Average life span of the human in many developing countries is increasing. Is this is a positive or negative development? Will this increased life expectancy have any social and personal issue? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

People in the first-world countries tend to live longer these days. Although this might be a good sign that the overall health has improved, it also brings some issues to the world. The essay will discuss the downsides of having ageing populations, as well as the solutions to combat these problems. There are two disadvantages of having the ageing population. Firstly, the elderly would need more retirement fund than it might be previously expected, because they might need to rely on their pension for an extended period of time, such as for twenty years instead of merely fifteen years. Sadly, a recent survey reported that older people do not prepare sufficient funds to pay for their post-retirement expenses. As such, they might end up having financial problems later in life. Secondly, society might need more space for housing as the number of people living in this world continues to rise. This, in turn, might cause land or house prices to rise, making it less affordable for people to purchase. Nevertheless, there are some measures that could be implemented to alleviate the negative effects. One of them is to provide affordable nursing homes so its cost will not be too burdensome to the family or the elderly themselves. This should also be supported by the growth in aged-care professions to ensure the welfare of the aged. In addition, superannuations need to be updated to suit the current condition of the ageing population. An example of this would be to start a campaign to promote early investment plan and financial savings. Hence, the young or the middle-aged can start preparing their retirement funds in order to accumulate enough savings to finance themselves. In conclusion, while there are some issues brought by the higher life expectancy, there are some methods to solve the problems. These need to be done in order to guarantee the welfare of the aged.