Average life span of the human in many developing countries is increasing. Is this is a positive or negative development? Will this increased life expectancy have any social and personal issue? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

Since the dawn of time, the average life expectancy is increasing. This is evidence in the developing countries such as in Australia, United States of America and in England. As result of this trend, problems such as family conflicts and elderly antisocial acts will also arise. However, in every problem, there is always a solution, and to counter these negative impacts for individuals and to society perhaps treat elderly with respect and love as well as give them some certain task. For one, as there is an increasing of ageing population, they tend to stay and live with their working children in one home in which misunderstanding may arise between the two. For instance, Filipino adults who are working and migrated in a developed country like Australia sponsored their old parents to live with them in that rich nation. But because these busy adults are always at work, he sometimes forgets his parents, and these elderly parents will feel disregarded and neglected that might result to more serious confrontations and conflicts. It is because sometimes an argument is unavoidable when living with children having their own family. In addition to this, as these old people will feel unwanted and disregarded by their children, they may sometimes do negative acts towards their children and other people in their surroundings. For example, they may become agitated and always angry and might hurt their grandchildren at home. They may also go leave the house and do harmful things to other people in the community. This situation is common in the United States of America, according to the Psychiatric Nursing 4th edition book by Sheila L. Videbeck. In conclusion, as the ageing population grows, family misunderstanding will also incline and more and more elderly will engage in antisocial acts. However, we working adults can manage these problems by giving them the respect and love they deserve such as acknowledging their presence and giving them gifts in their special occasions like birthdays, mother's day or father's day. Also give them some task at home like babysitting their grandchildren or driving them and picking them up at their school. With these tasks, they will surely feel wanted and valued, and such acts will be avoided.