Athough some people feel children should be made to leave their parents at a certain age, others believe they do not need to.

Whether children should be granted independence from their parents at a particular age has been a debatable issue for ages. Certain individuals are of the opinion that as children attain particular age, they should be made to leave their guardians to live their own lives although others think children should be able to live under the auspices of their parents irrespective of how old they are. In my opinion, I believe decision for children to leave or continue living with their parents should be left to the child to make. On the one hand, proponents of the viewpoint that children need not continue staying with their parents when they grow to a certain age say so mainly because they see it as a way of fostering a sense of responsibility in them. Basically, making it compulsory for these children to go out and explore the world for themselves can help create experiences that could be life-changing and beneficial. For example, in life a person that is not enjoying parental protection when exposed to an extremely challenging situation and finds solution to it, such individual will improve. On the other hand, certain persons are of the opinion that there ought not to be a limit on the time duration a child can remain with his parents. Fundamentally, there is the belief that guardians which allow their children to stay for as long as they want not only raise them to be responsible, they do so while not placing their lives in danger. Thus, teenagers will be unequipped to handle situations they meet outside at eighteen and so will still struggle. Finally, it is my view that children should be left to decide to remain in their parents' accommodation or live independent of them. This is because in the development of children, some mature faster than others. As a result, it is a child that can know his level of maturity better than anyone else. For instance, some children are already capable of making life changing decision at seventeen while other older children still find it difficult. In conclusion, despite varying opinions, I believe the overriding factor should be the maturity of the child considering they develop at different pace. Given the above, kids should only move out of their guardians’ accommodation at their volition.