Athough some people feel children should be made to leave their parents at a certain age, others believe they do not need to.

Whether children should be granted independence from their parents at a particular age has been a debatable issue for ages. Although certain individuals are of the opinion that as children attain the age of maturity they should be made to leave their guardians to live their own lives, others think children should be able to live under the auspices of their parents irrespective of how old they are. In my opinion, I believe decision for children to leave or continue living with their parents should be left to the child to make instead as opposed to using age as a yardstick. On the one hand, proponents of the viewpoint that children need not continue staying with their parents when they grow to a certain age say so mainly because they see it as a way of fostering a sense of responsibility in them. Basically, making it compulsory for these children to go out and explore the world for themselves can help create experiences that could be life-changing and beneficial. For example, in life a person that is not enjoying parental protection when exposed to an extremely challenging situation and finds solution to it. Subsequently, such individual will naturally improve. On the other hand, certain individuals are of the opinion that there ought not to a limit on the time duration a child can remain with his parents for various reasons. To start with, there is the belief that guardians which allow their children to stay for as long as they want not only raise them to be responsible, they do so while not placing their lives in danger. So, to these individuals, teenagers will be unequipped to handle situations they meet outside at eighteen and so will still struggle. Besides, the liberty that goes with independence could be the undoing of some of these young adults. Thus, whenever children stay with their parents, they do not only get guided but also get the opportunity to gain employment and reach autarky before being made to face the challenging conditions that real life brings. Consequently, this absolutely leaves them in helpless in the street when they are not ready yet. Finally, it is my view that children should be left to decide to remain in their parents' accommodation or live independent of them. This is because in the development of children, some mature faster than others. As a result, it is a child that can know his level of maturity better than anyone else. For instance, some children are already capable of making life changing decision at seventeen while other older children still find it difficult at twenty. Therefore, they should be allowed to move out on their own volition when they feel they are capable of handling the pressure and challenges of facing the outer world. Undeniably, this offers a fair shot at survival to these individuals irrespective of their rate of development. In conclusion, despite varying opinions on if children should be allowed to leave or remain with their parents after a certain age, I believe the overriding factor should be the maturity of the child considering they develop at different pace, and so staying with their parents can act as a cushion for children with slower maturity rate against inclement situations even as they grow into adulthood. Given the above, kids should only move out of their guardians’ accommodation at their volition when they feel equipped enough to do so.