As the leader of a city, what would you do to ensure the prosperity and success of the city? A. creating job opportunities for the unemployed; B. lowering food price; C. providing affordable housing

People debate about what should a leader to do to ensure the success of the city. From my perspective, the government should create job opportunities for the unemployed. Jobs would bring people a safe environment and money, which are necessary to prosper the city. My reasons are as follows. In the first place, high unemployment rate damages the safety of the city that is necessary to the prosperity of the city. To be more specific, it is possible that people without stable incomes would think about getting money in illegal ways, such as stealing or committing a fraud. In contrast, people with jobs focus on their working and don' t spend their time thinking about inappropriate things. Taking Detroit as an example, its high unemployment rate is associated with the increased crime rate. As a result, people move out to safer places. Since the workforce decreases, industries there continuously decline, and so does the city. On the other hand, the food price there is not above average. In addition, there are many cheap and empty houses but no one wants to buy them. Some cheap houses even become the place where the crimes take place. Obviously, creating job opportunities is more important to make the city prosper. Secondly, people need money to survive first, and then, they would have extra energy to pursue other things which flourish the city. In other words, working allows people to earn money, so providing job opportunities helps prosper the city. To illustrate, only after people are satisfied with the basic requirement of living, for example, getting enough food and having the cloth to keep them warm, they pursue other important things like education, political rights, and arts. For instance, in some developing countries, people have food and simple houses provided by the government, but still, they are not able to develop their city well because they own little money due to the limited job opportunities. Thirdly, to ensure the success of the city, the authority needs money to build public facilities, and by providing job opportunities to people, the government would have more money. To illustrate, the fund of the government mostly comes from the tax. The more money people earn, the more tax government would acquire. In turn, it uses the fund to improve, for example, the public transportation and the roads, which are basic but critical to citizen’s life. In contrast, lowering food price and providing affordable housing does not bring the government more money. What’s worse, to compensate for the loss of people who sell food or house, the government would have to pay to them, so it would have less money to build public facilities that help the city success. In sum, I hold the view that providing the job opportunities is what the leader should do to make the city flourish. The price of food and housing is not a problem because people can cook by themselves and live in a cheaper place to save money. However, only the authority can create more job opportunities for people.