As the leader of a city, what would you do to ensure the prosperity and success of the city? A. creating job opportunities for the unemployed; B. lowering food price; C. providing affordable housing

International student exchange programs are gaining worldwide popularity recently. One section of tutors believes that it would be favourable to send high school pupils in an exchange program to a foreign country. In this essay, I will discuss the de-merits and merits of the program and explain how it can be really advantageous. To begin with, there can be a few disadvantages of this scheme. Firstly, teenage students in schools are too young to go to a foreign country on their own, which can pose a threat. For example, it is widely known that most of the student exchange programs are conducted in the university levels, rather than school levels, as the kids are too young in the high schools to take care of themselves. Secondly, a foreign trip would always incur additional cost, which can be a burden for the middle income families. Finally, these kids would be required to take a gap from the curriculum at their own university. On the other hand, there are a lot more advantages for these exchange initiatives. Not only the pupils get a chance to live in a foreign country, but also to interact with people from different cultures, which in turn can bring in a new perspective on life. For instance, it is a popular fact that, in general, people who have a long travel history would end up becoming more tolerant to others compared to the commoners who haven't travelled much. Additionally, the foreign exchange plans can enable people to learn from other cultures that can broaden their mindset. To conclude, even though there are a few disadvantages, the advantages of student exchange programs in the foreign countries can outweigh the other. Tutors in contemporary schools think that it can really help the students well in shaping their future. Furthermore, these schemes are set to gain even more popularity in the coming years.