As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual wellbeing. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

In general, job fulfilment is known to be paramount as adults spend most of their lives working. There are different determinants of job satisfaction which results into happy living, such as basic human needs. Though the presumptions of workers for job enjoyment vary, it is not hundred percent logical. So, how do basic human needs affect employees' contentment? Although an average person would never stay idle, it is mandatory that a job would be a source that meets all requirements for human survival. These needs range from physiological, safety, self-esteem and self-actualization needs. If all these conditions are met, then every worker tends to have a fulfilled life. For instance, many researches have shown that majority of the happiest employees around the world are those that do not lack any essential demand and motivation. Since job satisfaction and the expectations of humans vary from time to time, it is impossible for workers to be satisfied. It is a known fact that humans are considered to be insatiable, thus a sense of well-being can not be guaranteed for employed middle-aged people. For example, an employee that is able to cater for feeding; shelter; safety and social amenities, would still probably want to attain a high social status by being a decision maker in his place of work. His inability to take part in decision in decision making can result into job dissatisfaction. In conclusion, some factors like physiological needs, safety and self-actualization needs are influential aspects for job satisfaction. However, it is quite unrealistic for staff to be completely satisfied with their jobs because is the nature of human beings to be unsatisfiable.