As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

There is the ongoing discussion whether or not job satisfaction is essential for individual’s well-being. Since most people spend a considerable amount of time on work and job satisfaction indeed is important. This essay will emphasize on various factors contributing for job fulfillment and extent of rational assumptions of work environment. Several factors contribute job satisfaction to individual’s well-being. Firstly, a good compensation package is on top of the list, because with the increased expenses in the country, a good salary with benefits acts as a long term savior for a family person. Secondly, the proximity of work location to one’s residence benefits the health status of the individual. For example, in summer travelling long distances results in sunstroke. Thirdly, providing adequate leaves decrease the stress of individual and improve the quality of product of the company in the long run. However, every person works in different prospective. Therefore, it is not rational for everyone to feel satisfied with their job, because people’s expectation from their employers are much higher than the reality, that is they have often complained that the salaries and benefits are insufficient to meet their needs. For instance, a survey conducted in Thailand factory demonstrated that even though the individual’s received the competitive salaries yet most of them were unhappy. To sum up, Job satisfaction plays an essential role in the well-being of from great income package, to work locations and leave policies. However, it is not clear whether it is realistic to expect job fulfilment since every individual has their own incentives of working.