As most people spend a major part of their adult life at work, job satisfaction is an important element of individual well-being. What factors contribute to job satisfaction? How realistic is the expectation of job satisfaction for all workers?

As the majority of the time of people is spent on workplace, contentment from the job is an extremely important. Although, in todays materialistic world, it is difficult to be satisfied from job no matter how perfect it may be. Several factors contribute to it as discussed in this essay. Amongst some of the factors which increase the sense of fulfilment from a particular job Salary is an important aspect. In todays physical world money has become an important part of our life as nothing can be achieved without it, may it be social status, education of children or life style. The importance of salary can be witnessed by the fact that the pay package is an integral part of every job interview. Consequently, the higher pay may ensure or improve contentment from a job. Another essential factor which contributes to job satisfaction is to make sure the job description of the employee is enforced. If a person is employed in a particular post, he should solely be performing that task not others. This is the major cause of frustration amongst workers if they are forced to perform duties other than job description or in addition to their own duties. For example, generally the doctors' primary responsibility is patient, but they are asked to perform administrative tasks when someone from administration is on leave. This has been seen to have a detrimental effect on morale of workers and reduces contentment level. In my opinion, in todays world of competition, it is highly unrealistic to expect job satisfaction from workers. People are seen to switch jobs more frequently in search of better ones and even than are not fully contented. However, awareness amongst the people must be created that hundred percent ideal situation cannot exist and some flaws may exist in every system. In conclusion, contentment from job though difficult to achieve but can be slightly increased by improving pay packages and ensuring the enforcement of job description.