Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Artists express creatively through their works. Some people believe that the art of these individuals must freely reflect what it is in their minds. This essay states that while creators are free to express their most inner views on a topic, they should not use that freedom to offend any social group. Creators use their artistic products in order to express their opinions. They offer others unique standpoints and, for that reason, they have the liberty to express their personal opinions through their works. For example, Botello decided to utilize fat people as his signature and these individuals are portrayed doing everyday chores in his paintings. Throughout his art, the aforementioned artist debunked the myths that fat people are lazy and ugly. Since in this artist´s representations the protagonists are realistically painted and usually moving, fat people are conveyed as active and beautiful. Throughout his art, Botello depicted overweight people closer to reality. Although art creators are free to express their standpoints on several topics, their works must not be offensive towards any social group since the basis of a society is respect and artists can always express their views in non-offensive ways. For example, a creator can express the terrible damages committed against Jews during the Holocaust in a respectful manner without recriminating new generations of Germans about the wrongdoings of only a minority of people. Art can be socially powerful and, yet, respectful. Beauty is an essential part of the art. Artists are free to convey their opinions in their works, but they must do so in a respectful manner because respect is the basis of a harmonious society.