Artists need a certain amount of freedom to develop their creativity. Some people think that artists should have total freedom to express any thoughts and ideas.

Some believe that artists require creative freedom to express themselves, while others think that it might have a detrimental effect on society. This essay will argue that despite that artists have the ability to influence many individuals negatively, the benefit of being able to raise social awareness through their work of art far outweighs any negative drawback. Artists act as role models for many people, and a lot of them have the power to influence young adults negatively. Musicians and film makers glorify the use of alcohol and smoking by promoting it in their music and films. Consequently, a lot of young adults who look up to these artists, follow them and get hooked onto these bad habits. For example, according to the survey conducted by the American Music Association, 30% of musical rappers promote the use of alcohol and drugs in their lyrics, and they amount for the highest fan base in the world. However, there are many other artists who influence positively with their work, and people have the option to follow artists who inspire them positively. Granting creative freedom to artists allows them to raise awareness on social causes through their art. By infusing topics such as poverty, social caste systems and inequality, in their work, artists can spread awareness about their negative effects on the society. For example, Danny Boyle, director of the film “Slumdog millionaire”, won many accolades for accurately depicting the poor conditions of the slums in Mumbai. Eventually, the issue was raised by the central government and special funds were reserved for this section of the society. This shows that artists can have a positive impact on society as well. In conclusion, the social contributions to society by artists outweighs the supposed negative impact that they might have on the general public.