Art is considered an essential part of all cultures throughout the world. However, these days fewer and fewer people appreciate art and turn their focus to science, technology and business. Why do you think that is? What could be done to encourage more people to take interest in arts?

People in today’s world are showing greater enthusiasm in the development of science, technology advance and business, rather than art. This essay will discuss the underlying reason of this trend and the way to engage more people in art. The public tend to devote more time and energy in studying and working in the science and business fields as they are becoming more practical and materialistic nowadays. In this information era, there are more job opportunities that are related to technology or business in the market, such as programmers, certified public accountants, and electronic engineers. These positions are usually well-paid so that people who work in these areas can make their ends meet and have savings to make vacations and buy luxury goods. That’s why the masses are so passionate about receiving an education in an engineer or business school and get relevant qualifications, and searching for relevant job vacancies. In contrast, it is quite challenging for an artist to be recognized by the majority of people and get a higher salary and enjoy a good life. Because of that, people are willing to fulfil their needs of science, technology and business instead of art. Therefore, art started to lose its value and people won't appreciate as much as before. In my opinion, the government can take measures to attract people’s attention in art. Some art related organizations and businesses, such as art galleries and crafts workshops, are on the verge of bankruptcy because they lack the financial and policy support from the government. More funding can be allocated to subsidize the local art industry, especially small art businesses and the talented artists, or the tax rate may be lowered for startups. In this way, they are able to run the business with a lower cost and generate more revenue, thus they may hire more artists to work for them or possibly raise their employees’ salary. Once people get their Material needs, they will start to take more attention in art.