Lack of fresh water is becoming a global issue of increasing importance. What problems does this shortage cause? What measures could be taken to overcome these problems?

It is thought by some people that there is an increasing depletion of fresh water across countries, and that it can raise many adversities. In my opinion, the health sector is particularly affected. To solve this issue, government and citizens must acknowledge this problem and its root cause, and act according to their responsibilities. Firstly, the major area that is affected by this loss is the health of the communities. This is due to the fact that water is an essential need of all human beings, it is used for drinking to sustain bodily functions, and to take a bath or wash hands to clean us from microorganisms. If clean water is decreasing, basic functions like those are disturbed, and a reduction of sanitation and hygiene level happened. We know that those can lead to diseases, namely infectious diseases. For example, clean uncontaminated water is necessary for making formula milk for babies, without it, babies are prone to contracting ailments such as diarrhea and malnutrition. The solution for this is to create a collective effort between the government and the people. The government must create a task force consisting members of different backgrounds to create a solution that will tackle the root of the lack of the water. The main root, I believe, is the pollution of the sources of rivers and seas by industrial corporations. An example of solving this is the strict laws created by many nations to prevent spilling industrial wastes to open water. On the other hand, the individuals of the country must be aware that some of their actions, such as throwing trash in the body of waters, are also part of the problem. The example of this can be found in teaching children to put trash in trash cans in school. In conclusion, the decrease of fresh water in all countries globally can cause an increase of infectious diseases. The measure to be taken is by making sure every parts of each countries aware of the problem and prevent further contamination of the scarce resource.