These days, we are seeing an increasing amount of violence on television, and this is having a negative impact on children's behaviour.

Violent content in the form of video games, media channels, and television dramas has seen a rapid increase over the last few years. This form of content, when exposed to children, could have negative consequences on their personality and behavior. Some children might be more prone to the negative effects of violence on television than others might, but I do not agree that all children would demonstrate violent behavior due to exposure toof brutal content on television. Studies have shown that children, particularly in their early years, absorb and retain a lot of information from the television. The famous television serial, ‘The Seseame Street’ has proved to influence the behavior and personalities of many children across the world. In addition, children need reinforcement from their surroundings for their behavior to shape. For example, a child living in Ghana would most probably demonstrate violent behavior if he/she watches violent content on the television and observes violence in his village when he goes out and witnesses gunshots and blood from the wounded regardless of content displayed on TV. Hence, I believe blood and gore on television, by itself, does not necessarily alter children’s behavior. Children in many countries play violent videos games such as ‘GrandtheftGrand theft Auto’ or ‘Call of Duty’ but that does not result in them expressing violent behavior. This is because they know it is just a game and consequences of violence in a game and in a real world are very different. On the contrary, children in many villages in Pakistan domestically abuse and beat their sisters even though they do not have any television sets or exposure to violent content. Therefore, violent behavior is not influenced by violent content on the television only; there are many other factors that affect such behavior. In conclusion, I would like to say that I do not agree with the statement that violent content on the television negatively affects children’s behavior, as there isn’t enough scientific evidence to back up this hypothesis. However, it is better to limit exposure to violence to children as other societal factors could reinforce violent behavior in them.