Rising university fees and scarce employment prospects for graduates have led some people to say that universities should not teach arts subjects, like philosophy and history, and only offer practical degree courses that maximise chances of employment.

Fees for different courses are different for graduate courses in universities. Due to increasing fees and limited employment opportunities for graduate students some people have an opinion that universities should only teach courses which has demand in the job market and not teach arts subjects like history and philosophy. I do not agree with the opinion of not teaching arts subjects in universities. A university is a place where students get to explore their interests and, also develop an interest in other fields of study while they are studying. However, with universities only teaching courses which have demand for employment, the students will not only take courses which they do not like, but also end up being miserable with jobs in which they are not interested. The field of arts is equally important to other fields making more money in the job market and hence it is equally important to teach arts subjects in universities. Even though, a student with arts degree may not get the highest salary out of the other fields, but still the student will get an opportunity in his field. Lastly, I agree that increasing fees at universities can be a major problem and some students may not afford to pay the fees, but with universities offering scholarships to students and jobs at the university campus, the student will easily manage to pay for their courses. To sum up, increasing fees and limited job opportunities in the field of arts does not make field of arts less important, instead it is equally important to teach all fields of study at the universities as they promote these courses and promote students to pursue the field of their interest, in addition the universities also open up new fields for employment.