Around the world, it is likely that more adults will work from home and more children will study from home as computer technology becomes cheaper and accessible. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that due to the affordability and accessibility of computers now, working and studying from home is now within people's reach. In my own perspective, I believe that this tendency can only give a negative impact. One issue to consider is that working at their own residence causes less productivity. While computers can bring convenience to employees, it can also result for more unfinished tasks. For instance, since a person is away from competitive environment such as offices, there will be less pressure and motivation from his boss to finish the assignments. Another problem for workers is that it gives less interaction with people. Despite the benefits of saving time and money when the job is at within their house, it can only lead to deficiency of social skills. Rather than delivering a face to face communication with clients, employees are oftentimes alone and talk to clients only on computer screens. Hence, this trend can bring negative impact to the employees. As for children studying at home, this can likewise give them disadvantages. Firstly, children are prone to distractions. They often failed to study because they lack focus on their lessons. For example, the usage of gadgets such as a computer for studying can also be utilized for gaming and browsing other off topic links. Consequently, their study is ineffective. Moreover, just like adults in the workforce, children may not be able to develop well their communication skills. This is true since there is the absence of classroom environment wherein other students are present. Thus, this is regarded as negative. In conclusion, even though there is an advantage seen in the convenience of people to work and be educated at home, I consider that this can only bring about more problems for them in the future.