Anybody can use a mobile phone to answer the work and personal calls at any time or 7 days a week. Does this development have more positive or negative effects on both individuals and society?

It is true that cell phones have brought people closer any ever before by allowing them to answer their personal and professional calls at any time during the day. Although this trend may disturb people's lives, I believe that it can help businesses thrive and benefit the economy as a whole. The main drawback of the trend is that individuals might find it overwhelmingly irritated when their activities can be disrupted at any time. During the daytime, given the hectic schedules that modern-day working people are invariably tied to today, that they may be called for a long talk of insignificance, from telesales, for example, may fuel their irritation when they are constantly pressed for time to finish their work. For many people, this means that they have to bring their work home to meet the deadlines, and certainly this leaves less time for them to unwind and enjoy quality time with their significant other. Furthermore, a late phone call at night may disrupt one’s sleep and exhaust him the next day. Were this to happen repeatedly, both his physical and mental health would gradually be in deterioration. I am, however, of the opinion that manufacturers would flourish when their employees answer their phone calls 24/7, contributing to the economic development of society. It is true that in this fiercely competitive market, many factories have to run both day and night shifts to ensure timely delivery, a crucial factor that any need to factor in to maintain their competitiveness. It is possible that many issues may not be fully covered during the shift transition, meaning that a quick check with the people in charge of the other shift would effectively solve the unexpected problem. A line leader, for example, may forget to inform his counterpart where he put the defected products that are to be mended, and in this case, his co-worker will find them effortlessly if he answers the call. Such minor issues, if not resolved instantaneously, may impact the output, and more seriously delay the delivery. In summary, that people can be contacted via phone at any time may bother them at times; however, I genuinely believe that this is acceptable as it can make a significant contribution to businesses in the market full of competition today.