Animals are in danger of extinction. Some people say we should protect only those animals which are useful to humans.

There is no doubt that due to urbanization and increasing human population, a lot of animal species are currently endangered and face extinction. While some people believe we should conserve all species of animals, others argue that only useful species should be conserved and protected. I tend to disagree, that we should be only protecting the useful animals, and in this essay I would shed more light on this argument. Mother nature has created all the different fauna and flora as equals, furthermore, we directly or indirectly play a vital role in the existence of each other. The most significant problems these endangered animals are facing are due to the human race, which is rapidly growing and urbanising. For instance, pigeons create a lot of nuisance in cities by creating their nests spreading dirty faecal matters everywhere. Secondly, they are not that useful to most people around the globe, except a few countries where they are consumed as food. However, it’s us humans who have destroyed their natural habitat of trees due to which they try to find shelter in our houses and buildings. Many of the animals, even if they are not useful to humans, are a vital part of the natural food chain. Therefore, removing them from the food chain can cause a lot of unexpected problems. For example, lizards are not directly useful to humans, however, they play an important part in controlling the growth of small insects by consuming them as food. As a result, it’s very imperative for us to not disturb this natural food chain, and conserve all the animals. In conclusion, even though many animals may not be useful to mankind. In my opinion, and as I highlighted in the above essay, we should conserve and protect all fauna and flora. Furthermore, being the most intelligent species on earth, it also becomes our moral obligation to protect them.