An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

There is no doubt that shopping is an essential part of our life. However, although some people think that shopping online is beneficial, it can cause several negatives. On one hand, shopping online provides a number of advantages, one of which is that online stores often offer lower prices than offline ones. For example, a toy biulding machine is twenty percent cheaper on Amazon than at Walmart. Moreover, buying online can help you to stay healthy because it allows you not to leave home, minimizing your chance to get infected. This is especially valuable over the period of widespread pandemias, such as coronovirus. Alternatively, if you go to a mall, you can become ill, and in this case you will be isolated for 2 weeks. On the other hand, shopping online has negative consequencies; for example, it harms local economies because small stores which cannot compete with e-commerce services have to close. As a result, people lose their jobs, and the economy of a community suffers. In addition to that, people buying online often spend more time at home than those who should go outside to buy goods at offline stores, thus they less talk to others; as a result, they feel more stressed. Otherwise, if they bought products at local shops, they would support the local economy and would feel better. In conclusion, taking everything mentioned into account, we can argue that although shopping online can reduce the costs on buying products and lowers the chance to get infected by various viruses, it harms local economies and makes people feel more stressed.