An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online.

The sprawling growth of supermarkets in various countries has adversely affected small local businesses as they struggle to face fierce competition. While it is a prevalent perception that the cessation of local businesses will result in the demise of local communities, I do not support this idea due to the following reasons. There is a widespread notion that the proliferation of supermarkets will wipe out local communities. However, the reality is that supermarkets can help revitalize the local community. To illustrate, the town where I live always wore a deserted look. This all changed after the inauguration of well-known supermarket chain in my locality. The entire area transformed into a bustling town. Moreover, supermarkets serve local communities by offering them a range of products at competitive prices. Since supermarkets are bulk buyers, which means that they enjoy economy of scale and are in the position to offer unlimited and diverse products at a cheaper price to their customers. For instance, a member of the local community can find an imported product in a supermarket which might not be available at a local shop which not only gives more choice and freedom to the consumer, but also raises their standard of living manifold. Furthermore, supermarkets play an active role in the community by creating jobs. For example, a local shop might be managed and operated by a sole proprietor whereas, supermarket chains are mostly corporate entities which employ several hundred even several thousand people. Therefore, on the basis of aforementioned reasons, it would be justified to say that the positive correlation of the closure of local businesses with the death of local communities is merely a myth. I strongly believe that local communities will thrive as supermarkets flourish