An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

With technology advances, customer buying preferences have changed tremendously. Earlier, people used to prefer to visit the markets for shopping, whereas today, most of the public want to buy things online. There are so many portals which are offering lucrative options for the online buyers. Sites like Myntra, Grofers, offer huge discounts on sale. Online shoppers are no more limited to getting clothes and all, but they can very well buy groceries, gardening items, stationary and what not. Everything is available for every age group. Variety of choices are available for anyone to buy. Online shopping is convenient. It provides flexibility for the users to get anything from anywhere. And the items are delivered to their doorsteps. Many sites do not even charge for delivery. Customers are delighted to have fast service with premium options available in some portals like Amazon Prime. Needless to say, even companies prefer to sell online nowadays. Marketeers can study buying history of the customers to design their marketing strategies. Customers are more likely to order immediately in that case. Many entrepreneurs sell online as they do not have to maintain physical shops. They tie up with Myntra or others and sell their products directly to customers earning large profits. There are, however, certain disadvantages to both, the consumers and the retailers. Users sometimes get low quality product, which otherwise looks different online. Also, they cannot physically try or see the products. Companies, on the other hand, often find it hard to build trust with their customers.