An increased number of people today change their career and living places in their lives. Is it a positive or negative development?

People switch career paths and move to different places for various reasons ranging from better prospects, high earnings to the better quality of life. In many instances, this has many positive impacts on family or community of a person. Particularly when a talent is not recognised and appreciated in a country or in a career, it is definitely a wise step to change jobs and move to greener pastures. If we consider the case of a person coming from a developing country, it is very likely that there are fewer opportunities in his home country. If this person relocates to a country where his skill is regarded as niche and rare, chances are that he will get paid 100-300% more than his pay in his native country. For instance, today there are better-paying jobs in Information Technology industry in the USA than in India. Due to this, young population in India wants to relocate to one of these countries to have better standards of living and salaries. Apart from this, there are more chances to go up in corporate ladder and get chances to interact and work with experts in the industries. In some instances, even when we have the best paying job, one may not end their day satisfied. It is strongly advised to divert their energies to a career of their interest or choice. On the contrary, when relocating to a different country or a job, one needs to leave their families and friends behind and live far from them. It takes very long time to socialise in new environments and get used to cultures. For example, if one migrated from India to Australia, he will have to adjust to different weather conditions, cultures and living style. A lot of things that are deemed acceptable in India are probably considered absolutely insane in Australia. Due to reasons like this, career growth may stagnate for a while and sometimes does not go as expected. We should balance the positives and negatives when deciding to change careers or living places. When we need years to adjust to new careers and communities, it is wise to calculate impact beforehand and move on.