In your opinion, what is the most important characteristic a successful student must have? Describe the characteristic and give your reasons about your opinion.

Spending life in a country where communication has to be done in a foreign language is socially and practically problematic. I agree to this statement as the language has a central role in all communications. Life in a foreign country where one has to communicate with foreign language can pose several social problems as a result of difficulty in communications. Whenever someone wants to talk to other people language barrier will always be there unless he is an expert in the native language. For instance, every culture has innate words and etiquettes which have to be followed while communicating with others and the absence of these from conversations will render a person illiterate or ill mannered. Hence, local people will try to avoid him and may result in his social isolation. The difficulty in speaking foreign languages may result in practical problems in form of education. Most countries in the world have language of teaching in their own language and the books are also published in local language. Hence, if a person has to study in that particular country he has to know the language after that he will be able to study. This was especially observed when many Pakistani students went to Iran for medical studies. All the books of medicine were in Persian which is their local language and students suffered a great deal during studies. In addition, they had difficulty inwards when taking histories from local people which is part of the medical curriculum. In conclusion, life in a foreign country has several problems and language seems to be a bigger problem with its influence on the social interaction of people.