Although sports events are very popular, violence at these events is on the increase. Why is this so? What should authorities do to prevent violence from taking place at sports events?

Despite the increasing popularity of sports events all around the world, brutality concerning those events, particularly among fans, has globally grabbed attention. This essay elucidates the wagering of fans as one of the crucial ingredients for the conflict then will connote setting heavy fines by authorities as a solution to reach a rational conclusion. To begin with, we need to consider reasons for people who love sports to behave such irrationally, especially when they watch live sports. This should be examined from different perspectives to fully understand the purposes of this attitude. Monetary incentives, however, could widely be indicated as one of the chief agents. To illustrate, worldwide many are addicted to wager on their favourite sportsmen or teams, ranging from football matches to horse riding competitions. The stress of not succeeding in their bet and correspondingly losing a great deal of money leads to accusing violent treatment. These behaviours might occur in forms of bothering or hurting other individuals or damaging public properties etc. Considering the diverse angles of this social phenomenon, setting a bunch of penalties against the populace particularly in wagering acts concerning sports events somehow could result in a fewer brutal etiquette of sport competition followers. As evidence, in some countries like Iran, wagering on any incident is identified as an unruly action in terms of legal and religion alike. Moreover, heavy fines could be waiting for offenders attempting to bet on athletic competitions. To conclude, although the causes of violent behaviour in sports events are needed to be considered from a different angle, the financial losses stemming from losing wager can be suitably responsible for such manners. Nevertheless, it could be under control by legislating stricter laws regarding wagering, in particular, in the field of athletic.