Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think that it is good, while others think it has some disadvantages.

Today’s world, sponsoring sports clubs and players has become an effective way of advertisement of companies and their products. There are those who believe that this method has a significant impact on companies and society, others think it is not. This essay will examine both sides of the argument. On the one hand, as an advertisement method of funding sports contains several benefits for companies, players, sports clubs, and also society. Firstly, in point of view of benefits for companies, this method offers them to introduce their products in the market. Nowadays, many people admire some athletes who are successful in their sport field and tend to imitate those players’ behaviours, lifestyle, and even their style of dress. These people’s preferences may be affected by these athletes, for example, if a person has admirable feelings to an athlete, they could purchase products which are provided by companies to athletes by sponsoring them. As a result, this could provide companies to increase in income. Secondly, this method could also benefit for the society. For illustration, sport clubs can use this money given by companies to improve their sports facilities which may give a significant chance to train the future’s young athletes. On the other hand, there could be also disadvantages, especially for companies. Companies can be negatively affected by the behaviours of sponsored players. If an athlete commits a crime, such as drug using, there will be a lot of news circulating in the media, which makes people have disgusting feelings toward that player. Thus, this may lead to damage the company’s reputation among the public and business environment. Furthermore, the company might have had to signed of the advertisement contract, so the money spent on this contract will be wasted. In conclusion, there are several reasons, whether sponsor sports as an advertisement method is beneficial for companies or if it contains more disadvantages than benefits, as discussed above.