Some people say that historical buildings should be knocked down while others say that they should be preserved.

People have different perspectives on whether to keep ancient constructions or to rebuild modern skyscrapers. However, while many people consider that historical buildings should be kept for educational purposes or as travel landmarks, I personally believe that governments ought to demolish them instead of building high-rise apartments. Firstly, the main reason for protecting heritage sites is that they retain values relating to human history and educating the public by accessing the physical site. For instance, in western countries, some museums and castles have been renovated inside for the purpose of exhibiting some ancient tools, remarkable paintings or vivid sculptures. The artefacts often have descriptions written with them in order to help children, tourists and the public comprehend their uses, historical stories and content as well as to appreciate the beauty of the art. If governments organize public heritage sites, then they can attract a large number of tourists to their nations which can help them to increase their understanding about their nations culture and history. On the other hand, even though old constructions have their values, there is no doubt that if too many derelict buildings remain in cities, it is difficult to see the positive impacts on countries' developments and it cannot tackle the issue of overpopulation. For example, in high populating areas, governments should let construction firms have planning permission to remove the slum areas and replace them with high- rise apartments. This is so that the residents can live comfortably and the homeless have a place to stay too. In addition, the high rise apartments can reduce risks associated with unstable structures which could be fatal to people, especially if a natural disaster occurs, such as earthquakes. In conclusion, although some historical buildings still have value to people, the concern of countries' progression and overpopulation issues means that governments should take into account the possibility of reorganizing the out-of-date buildings. Therefore, I believe we should build high- rise apartments instead of retaining every historical building in order to combat the issue raised above.