All over the world, people watch foreign films much more than locally produced films. Why? Should the government provide financial support to local industries?

The household names at cinemas today are, by and large, from overseas. This has prompted many to advocate that officials should allocate funding to local filmmakers. This essay will discuss the grounds behind such a phenomenon, before presenting my own viewpoint. It is evident that foreign products often secure considerably more capital than local goods. In overseas nations, massive investments are granted from parent organisations to prominent film production crews, alongside financial resources from other sponsors. Initially, this allows directors to opt for the most eminent and competent personnel in the field, as well as invest more in visual designs and production equipment. In consequence, such films often transpire to be more polished and up to par with viewers’ expectations. Moreover, abundant funds accommodate producers with the opportunity to mass advertise their product to prospective audiences. As a result, this boosts brand awareness and audience response, which in turn generally restores prolific results. Regarding the analysis above on the pivotal role of ample funding, it is apparent that foreign films are prevailing in comparison to local ones. In light of such adverse circumstances, it is vital that governmental bodies devise financial schemes to aid domestic producers. Subsidies may be provided through several approaches, alongside the classic, direct monetary grants. To begin with, it has been proposed that administrations cooperate with local film studios, as well as cinema complexes in order to allocate specific showings for the indicated movies. These screenings may be offered at a discounted price or along with gift cards and other benefits, so as to enhance consumers’ consumption and satisfaction. Furthermore, national film festivals should be organised annually by authorities. In addition to the eminent cash prize, the participation of prominent figures in the industry is encouraged, as expert guidance and assistance have often drawn the attention of the general public. On the whole, such economic support is predicted to augment activity in the field through the increase in production and consumption, thus enhancing movie grossing. All aspects considered, it is conspicuous that domestic films are underprivileged in contrast to overseas productions. In view of the analysis addressed above, it is essential that governments allocate grants to suffering local businesses and invigorate activity in the economy.