Tourism is an excellent way to develop a country, but it can also cause harm. How can countries ensure that tourism benefits the development?

Tourism has seen a considerable growth over the last few decades due to the improved standard of living. It is thought that tourism is a significant contributor to the development of a country while opponents claim that tourism may pose many problems to the host country. This essay will examine the upside of travel and suggest some measures to maximize the benefits of this phenomenon. Firstly, the rising tourism has been credited with boosting the local economy. In fact, a massive number of foreign visitors help a destination gain more popularity. Hence, thousands of job opportunities for local inhabitants are generated to meet the need of consumers. For example, the locals may be employed in restaurant, hotels or shopping malls. Moreover, the tax in services and goods imposed on visitors help to increase the turnover of local businesses. Secondly, the booming international travel contributes remarkably to the conservation of national heritages. Particularly, money earned from admission tickets at tourist attractions is allocated to the maintenance of local culture. Without such funding, those historical monuments would be subject to demolition. A number of drastic measures can be taken to reap the benefits of tourism. A way forward is to launch advertising campaign about the importance of historical attractions and heritages. Thus, more and more people are willing to get involved in protecting local cultures. Another solution might be to improve the service system more environmentally friendly, leading to the reduction of air and water pollution. This essay has highlighted the merits of tourism to a country’s development as it helps to rise local economy and conserve historical artefacts. Additionally, solutions government might put forward to mitigate detrimental impacts of tourism. 2.