All children should learn a second language at school.

Nowadays, it is argued that school children ought to be taught a second language. As far as I am concerned, in the modern world of technology, it is highly important for school staff to include a second language in their curriculum for several reasons such as improving children’s communication with international community and enhancing their awareness of different cultures. In the first place, knowing a second language such as English can enable pupils to broaden their interaction with the so called global village via Internet. By this I mean, they can have access to social networking sites, make new friends on Facebook or Instagram, and share their projects with their pen-pals. When I was a 17-year-old school boy, my history teacher asked me to prepare a lecture about the French revolution. Immediately, on Yahoo Messenger, I found a French boy my age who was able to speak English. He helped me a lot and I was praised for my presentation by my teacher. In the second place, by studying a second language, children can acquire a deeper understanding of the world in general and of their own language and culture in particular. In fact, language is a part of a broad platform called culture. When people get familiar with a new language, they get familiar with people, customs and traditions of that country. Consequently, they are more flexible and tolerant because they will know that every nation has its own beliefs. To sum up, teaching a new language at school is very essential since it can elevate students’ personal abilities such as social relationship and their understanding of the world.