Air travel is preferred by the rich people only. Majority of the peope receive no benefit from the development of air travel as an industry.

It is a known fact that the airway is a rich person's mode of transport. But, many believe the industry as such doesn't benefit any other class. I totally disagree with this belief. As a matter of fact, air travel as a trade definitely benefits more than just one category of people. Firstly, the airline business employs thousands of people from varied walks of life. For example, a company in this business needs to rely on a number of technicians, pilots, cabin crew, housekeeping staff etc. Even though it is an oligopolistic market, human resource needed to run the show is greater than most of the free markets. That makes it relevant across the strata of society Secondly, innumerable ancillary businesses pop-up which support the airline industry. This includes, but is not limited to hotels, cabs, local tourism etc. Consider any city where a new airport is announced, you will suddenly see the entire economic structure of that place taking a different turn. Larger industries like these encourage the beginning and growth of smaller industries. Thereby keeping the economy running in a smoother way. To conclude, airlines as an industry might have limited users, but the beneficiaries are multiple. Employees of these organizations and other smaller companies starting up benefit just as much, if not more than the affluent class.