Air transport is increasingly used to export fruits and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is argued that the air shipments of perishable consumable goods to the nations where they cannot be cultivated or the time for seasonal growth is over, is increasing. This essay will discuss the benefits of such modes of transportation are being the fastest mode, while the drawbacks are the overall price tag of these products are increased. As aerial transport is a quick route, it is often used for the delivery of crops such as, fruits and vegetables because do not have a very long shelf life. This situation worsens if the climate is not in their favour. Therefore, they need to be delivered quickly so that, their freshness is maintained until they are consumed. For example, Avacados cannot be grown in India due to the climatic conditions, but are imported from Jakarta via air carrier which gets shipped in a day. Hence, the most important advantage is that the produce can be delivered quickly. Despite all the positives, the most significant drawback is that the overall purchasing cost of such grocery is increased, as the additional shipment cost from distant nation gets added. Consequently, the rate at which the consumer purchases them, is much higher. For instance, the amount at which the Dragon fruit is sold in India, which is imported from Thailand is expensive compared to its price there, where it is produced natively. Thus, the inflated purchasing rate is the disadvantage of these methods of delivery. In conclusion, although the benefits of the aerial transportation of produce like fruits and vegetables are that they deliver them very quickly, the drawbacks include surcharged rate of purchase of such goods.