Agree or disagree? Successful persons try new things and taking risks, rather than only doing things and what already know how to do well.

Taking a gap year to go overseas or work before entering university is encouraged in some countries. Although adolescents can gain real-life experiences and soft skills by taking a year off after high school, it has some drawbacks. On the one hand, there are multiple advantages to young people working or travelling before starting their university education. Firstly, they have the chance of acquiring soft skills, which are crucial in universities and the workplace, before starting their studies. Personal skills, for instance, teamwork, leadership qualities, and cooperation are essential for successful young adults and can greatly contribute to their academic progress as well as their careers. Secondly, travelling abroad enhances young people’s experiences and nurtures independence. They would mix with foreign people, get to know other cultures in addition to planning their trip. This broadens their horizons and helps them become open-minded and self-reliant. On the other hand, one problem when adolescents stop studying for a year is the possibility of them losing interest in resuming their education. After working for a year, they might start loving their careers way more than having to study and go to university daily. Furthermore, as they start earning money, it can become hard for them to forsake their financial independence in order to study. Another problem is spending a lot of money on travelling, therefore, being unable to afford to study at universities. This can be exemplified by adolescents who fail to work during their gap year and instead waste their money on travelling and fun activities. These people would be unable to support themselves or pay tuition fees. To conclude, while young people can benefit from taking a gap year before starting university studies, it can also lead them to waste their money or become uninterested in continuing their studies.