Agree or disagree? Parents today are more involved in their children's education than parents were in the past.

Parent plays an indispensable role in children' s education. However, whether or not parents today are more involved in their children' s education than parents in the past is worth of some debates. From my point of view, I disagree with the statement and i believe that parents spend less time in children' s education in modern society. The following paragraphs by containing the main reasons will substantiate my view point. First of all, in today' s competitive economics environment, it' s common that both parents have to work for living which makes them have limited time to involve in children' s education. A lot of people send their children to after school because they have no time to teach or check their children’s homework. In most of time, parents only know their children' s test or homework score and have no idea about any detail of their study condition. On the other hand, parents in past live in a relatively steady economics environment, and only one of them have to work and have more flexible working hours. Children often taught by their dad or mom for homework and tests, it is easy for parents to know the children' s condition in school. In addition, the education policy today changes much more frequently than the past. Parents are totally unfamiliar with the new policy and it becomes so hard for them to help their children in school' s education. For example, the education policy today has a huge difference between the old policy in the past. In the past, taking the standard college enrollment exam is the only way to get into the college. However, according to today' s policy, there are different kinds of ways to apply for a college program and each way has special requirement and details. Most Taiwan' s parents doesn' t understand the policy at all and and cannot help their children by their personal experience. Therefore, even if parents want to get involved into their children' s education, it is still difficult for them because of the education environment. Last but not least, children today are taught to be more independent and encouraged to have their own thought. They don' t like to follow the traditional path or their parent' s steps. Thus, children are more tend make their decision in most thing including their education and not let their parents get involved. In conclusion, based on the aforementioned argument, I convinced that parents are less involved in their children education when comparing today and past because of economics environment, fast-changing education policy, and children' s independence.