Agree or disagree, and why? Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

The rising business competition around the globe is demanding more efforts from the employers to stay in the market. The trend of extending working hours or staying in touch with the work force 24/7 to meet the official deadlines or some emergencies are becoming common. However, it comes at the cost of emotional and physical disturbance of the employees. In my opinion, this development, though offering benefits at times, have more drawbacks from the employee aspect. The major benefit of a full day employer-employee contact is maintenance of smooth business operations. For example, sometimes contacting a staff after working hours becomes unavoidable, as in case of an emergency at the hospital. Similarly, a short email for a reminder of an urgent presentation the next morning or cancelation of some event is necessary at times to avoid any problems at the office. Additionally, the global expansion of businesses demands staying in contact with the organizations across the borders, extending the working hours because of the differences in the time zones. Any failure to do so may result in loss of the company’s revenue. Despite this, the limited job opportunities have also allowed the employers to benefit from the exploitation of employee rights. Staying in touch through emails and phone calls make it a full day at work. Though, sometimes the staff is also offered an additional financial incentive or a non-monetary reward for the extended services, it effects their personal life and wellbeing. Employees need time to relax and enjoy with their family to stay motivated and healthy. To illustrate, France has declared it illegal to send emails to employees after the office timings, in support of their ‘right to disconnect’. Otherwise, it makes them emotionally exhausted, that ultimately affects their job performance. As, for example, according to a recent research in the banking industry of Pakistan, hectic long office hours is one of the significant factors of rising turnover of the employees. In conclusion, staying in contact with the employees throughout the day is becoming increasingly popular to ensure the business success. However, it imbalances employees' personal life and health, which in my opinion is more important to be addressed.