Advertising is all around us, it is an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while others say it is a negative one.

These days, advertisements in the form of T. V commercials, and social media paid content have become a new norm to send a message or sell products. The enormous impact of advertising has triggered a new debate questioning its positive and negative effects on individual behavior and life. In my opinion, despite some negligible drawbacks, advertisements have played an important role in bringing some positive changes in our lives. This essay will illustrate some of the possible drawbacks and many benefits of advertisements in our lives. On the one hand, beginning with the viewpoint of proponents, advertisements are an effective tool to bring many important cultural and social changes and breaking the stereotypes in any society. They further argue that advertising can trigger behavior changes and prompt an individual to break any bad habit which could be detrimental for society. For instance, the Pakistan government -in a bid to curb the menace of Plastic pollution-is running a media campaign to encourage people to slash the use of single-use plastic bags. Not only it has brought a positive outcome in a relatively short period of time but also helped the government to spend less on recycling. Therefore, advertising can be an important platform to send a public message and help fight national issues like poverty, corruption, and pollution. On the other hand, it is also argued by some that commercial advertisements being run by private organizations are forcing people to unnecessarily spend money on buying new products. For instance, evidence suggests that people who want to show off their wealth often do this by buying the latest mobile phones and advertisements were found to be the leading cause for this behavior. Another negative impact of advertising is a waste of time and resources. Indeed many businesses in a bid to compete and outdo their rivals are spending a lot on unnecessary advertisements which have resulted in cost escalation. Furthermore, it wastes valuable time of viewers who should only be shown relevant content on media. In a conclusion, having discussed both sides, in spite of few possible drawbacks, I believe that overall advertising has changed our lives in a positive manner and could be used to deliver a message to combat issues harmful for society